All Ears 017 – 19th July 2018

This is what we played at All Ears 017:

You can find most of the tracks on this Spotify Playlist,

except Tom Beesley’s Qawwali set which you can find on this YouTube Playlist,

and Emily Muirhead’s Rodriguez set which you can find on this YouTube Playlist.

Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry – Simon East

Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry is a Jamaican music producer and a pioneer in the 1970s development of dub music: using remixing and studio effects to create new versions of existing reggae tracks. He has worked with and produced for a wide variety of artists, including Bob Marley and the Wailers, The Congos, Max Romeo, Adrian Sherwood, The Beastie Boys, The Clash and many others.

20:00 Return of Django – The Upsetters
20:02 Rude Boy – Prince Jammy & Lee Scratch Perry
20:04 Hold Fast Dub – Lee Scratch Perry
20:06 Mistry Babylon – The Heptones
20:09 Beat Down Babylon – Lee Scratch Perry
20:12 Bush Weed – Lee Scratch Perry
20:15 Clint Eastwood Rides Again – Lee Scratch Perry
20:17 Chase the Devil – Lee Scratch Perry
20:18 War Ina Babylon – Max Romeo & The Upsetters
20:22 Black Vest – The Upsetters
20:26 Zion Blood – Lee Scratch Perry

Qawwali – Tom Beesley

Qawwali is a form of Sufi devotional music popular in Pakistan and North India with its roots at the Sufi saint Nizamuddin’s shrine in Delhi. Its origins date from the late Thirteenth century.

20:30 Maalik Ne Banaye Saare – Chhote Mazid Shola
20:50 Ankhian Udeek Diya – Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan

Rodriguez – Emily Muirhead

I first fell in love with the music of Sixto Rodriguez in the 1990s. I was told that he had shot himself on stage in the 1960s, after his first album had bombed in the USA. Then in 2012 I watched a film called Searching for Sugarman which documented the search for Rodriguez. He had become the sound of the Apartheid in the 1990s and a South African cultural phenomenon, but like me, they all thought he had committed suicide. His music is unique and timeless and I am so happy this amazingly modest and talented musician is now enjoying the recognition that he deserves.

20:59 Sugar Man – Rodriguez
21:03 Big in South Africa – CNN Report
21:05 First performance in South Africa – Rodriguez
21:04 I Wonder – Rodriguez
21:06 I Think Of You – Rodriguez
21:10 Crucify your mind – Rodriguez
21:16 I’ll slip away – Rodriguez
21:20 Can’t Get Away – Rodriguez

Mark Kozelek – Simon East

Mark Kozelek is best known as the main artist of the indie folk band Sun Kil Moon, and as the founding member of the indie rock band Red House Painters. He also released several solo and collaborative recordings. He appeared in several films: Almost Famous, Vanilla Sky and Shopgirl.

21:23 Mistress – Red House Painters
21:26 River – Red House Painters
21:29 San Geronimo – Red House Painters
21:32 Ben’s My Friend – Sun Kil Moon
21:38 Between Days – Red House Painters
21:41 Heron Blue – Sun Kil Moon
21:44 Among the Leaves – Sun Kil Moon
21:48 What Happened to My Brother – Mark Kozelek & Jimmy LaValle
21:53 Summer Dress – Red House Painters
21:55 Up To My Neck In You – Mark Kozelek

French Synth Pop – Joe Johnson

The celebrity soundbites of a typical ‘I remember the 90s’ TV show would probably suggest that the latter part of the decade was all about Radiohead’s melancholic rock and the UK’s post-Britpop hangover, yet across the channel the mood was notably celebratory. The blueprint of French house, or ‘French Touch’ as it is also known, can be found in the disco bass lines and filtered samples of Daft Punk’s early singles, such as Around the World. However not all French electronica from this period was aimed at the dance floor; the atmospheric, jazz influenced sounds of St Germain and Sebastien Tellier, combined with Air’s downbeat acoustic ballads, certainly prove that the genre wasn’t as mindless or repetitive as one might recall.

21:58 The Operation – Charlotte Gainsbourg
22:02 Rose Rouge – St Germain
22:06 Cochon Ville – Sébastien Tellier
22:10 Gordini Mix (Brakes On Mix) – Alex Gopher
22:14 Music Sounds Better With You – Stardust
22:17 Newjack – Justice
22:19 Revolution 909 – Daft Punk
22:21 Photograph – Air
22:24 La Ritournelle – Sébastien Tellier
22:26 1901 – Phoenix

12k Label – Tom Beesley

Label boss Taylor Deupree established 12k in Brooklyn, New York in1997. The label ‘fuses elements from ambient and acoustic experimentation with carefully arranged digital textures and associative micro-noises, the label’s aesthetics revolve around a precisely-outlined, yet deeply emotional concoction of the technological and the organic.’

22:28 Dusk, 20th September 2005 – Seaworthy
22:28 Map in Hand Pt. 2 – Seaworthy
22:32 the youthful sea – savvas ysatis + taylor deupree
22:35 reservoir – savvas ysatis + taylor deupree
22:42 Somi – Taylor Deupree
22:47 Largo – Stephan Mathieu & Taylor Deupree
22:50 desequilibre – Ghislain Poirier
22:53 skimming – Taylor Deupree