All Ears 002 – 16th Feb 2017

These are the tracks we played:

For those of you on Spotify most of them are in this playlist: All Ears 002 Playlist

Matthew Herbert – Simon East

Matthew Herbert is a British electronic musician. He releases music under a large number of aliases: Herbert, Doctor Rockit, Radio Boy, Mr. Vertigo, Transformer, Wishmountain, and his Big Band. He often samples sounds from everyday items and then loops these to produce tracks. When playing live he will build entire tracks up from scratch based on samples.

20:00 Turning Pages – The Matthew Herbert Big Band
20:08 So Now – Herbert
20:14 Radio – Wishmountain
20:20 Roman Candle – Doctor Rockit
20:23 Hollywood – radio boy
20:27 Rude – Herbert

Gil Scott-Heron – Tom Beesley

An American soul singer, jazz poet and musician who first came to prominence through his spoken-word performances in the 1960s. Scott-Heron fused soul, jazz and blues with a lyrical content addressing social and political issues. Tonight’s selection draws together some of his more personal recordings concerning his family and his battle with addiction.

20:31 On Coming From A Broken Home (Pt. 1) – Gil Scott-Heron
20:33 Grandma’s Hands – Gil Scott-Heron
20:38 Pieces of a Man – Gil Scott-Heron
20:43 The Get out of the Ghetto Blues – Gil Scott-Heron
20:48 Home Is Where The Hatred Is (Live) – Gil Scott-Heron And Brian Jackson
20:58 Your Soul And Mine – Gil Scott-Heron

Krautrock – Simon East

Krautrock is a genre of music that developed in Germany in the late 1960s. It was more influenced by electronic music and jazz than traditional rock influences and is often characterised by fast driving drum rhythms and melodic synth or lead guitar lines. The term “krautrock” was coined by English-speaking music journalists as a humorous name for the genre.

21:00 One More Night – CAN
21:05 Almost – Harmonia and Brian Eno
21:10 Hallogallo – NEU!
21:15 Jennifer – Faust
21:20 Ho Renomo – Cluster and Brian Eno
21:25 Amboss – Ash Ra Tempel

African Beats – Tom Beesley

A selection of dance-oriented tracks that have emerged from various parts of Africa recently, with sounds from Senegal, Uganda, the DRC and the South African club scene. There are two tracks of ‘Congotronics’ together with a remix and a collaboration between a group of Dakar based musicians and Mark Ernestus of Basic Channel in Berlin.

21:30 Bosamba Ndeke – Bolya We Ndenge
21:43 Jigeen – Mark Ernestus’ Ndagga Rhythm Force
21:47 Fula Fula – Konono No.1
21:52 Afrika – Osborne
21:56 Wa Muluendu – Kasai Allstars

Nordic Soundtrack – Simon East

A selection of tracks by bands, many of Nordic or Icelandic origin, that produce the kind of evocative music that could be the soundtrack to a film.

22:01 Violent Lights – Nordic Giants feat. Alex Hedley
22:05 Sinking Friendships – Jonsi
22:10 Intro – the Soil & the Sun
22:10 Are You? – the Soil & the Sun
22:15 Bats In The Attic – King Creosote and Jon Hopkins
22:19 Muscle – Gwilym Gold
22:22 Chemical Trails – M. Craft
22:25 Peace for Earth – Four Tet

Gondwana Records – Tom Beesley

Gondwana Records is a small independent jazz label based in Manchester. Established in 2008 by saxophonist Matthew Halsall, the label is home to GoGo Penguin, John Ellis and The Gondwana Orchestra among others. Matthew Halsall is playing at the Wardobe in Leeds on 5th April.

22:30 The Land Of – The Gondwana Orchestra
22:35 Murmuration – GoGo Penguin
22:39 A Far Away Place – Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra
22:46 Kamaloka – GoGo Penguin
22:51 The Ladder – John Ellis
22:57 Longshan Temple – The Gondwana Orchestra